The map below is the most detailed map of western Kentucky that I have seen. The full map can be found at the Library of Congress by clicking here. This map shows many of the smaller towns, as well as the roads in the region at this time.

Click on this map for a larger view:

A portion of the map showing western Kentucky. Von Reizenstein, B. & D’Avignon, F. (1865) Western Tennessee, and part of Kentucky. [S.l] [Map] Retrieved from the Library of Congress, https://www.loc.gov/item/99448452 .

5 thoughts on “Western Kentucky in 1865

    1. I have been hunting the town of Melvin for a while with my research before I found this map, and since it has the roads, it makes it much easier for me to follow the troop movements from both the Union and Confederate armies.

  1. Wow. What Kentucky looked like the year before my grandfather (yes!) was born. And while my great-grandfather was in the Kentucky legislature!

Leave a Reply

